In Focus: Amherst account inspires Northwestern student to reveal own sexual assault (Lauren Caruba, The Daily Northwestern):

“Earlier this quarter, an Amherst College student garnered national attention for her account of callous treatment by school administrators following her rape. For one Northwestern student, the story was all too familiar.

“‘I battle my memories of the rape every day,’ Weinberg senior Lauren Buxbaum wrote in a Facebook status posted Oct. 18. ‘It consumes me in a way I hope none of you ever experience. The only thing that was holding me together was my life here at Northwestern. And now that has been taken away, and I don’t even have the energy to battle for my life back.’

“…Buxbaum’s story exposes the harsh realities of policies that attempt to balance the safety of individual students with that of the broader NU community. Despite new resources and policy amendments, NU’s response to sexual assault still has its flaws.

“‘Things need to change here too,’ Buxbaum ended her post. ‘Don’t forget it.’”